To My Parents

Dear Amma,

I know I am supposed to write to parents. But I know you need it more. You know how we worship you. And you know you are the Superwoman model – THE Supermom! I have already glorified you HERE. But it is never too much when it comes to extolling our mom.

Do you know what makes you different?

  • You trust me blindly. That trust makes me think twice before I do anything.
  • You don’t believe that a girl belongs in the kitchen. But you manage to interest me in cooking anyway.
  • I never wanted to be a housewife. I wanted to earn like you. But you told me once, that your ambition was to become an exclusive house-wife. Yet, you loved your work at office. I couldn’t help but wonder how flexible you are.
  • You said a ‘No’ to us only when it was really necessary. Your ‘No’ is rare & seldom heard. The word is so valuable that I accept it without questioning.
  • Your food is the best (Of course! Ammamma’s is too :D).
  • Your ability to multi-task, to find missing stuff, to repair anything, to touch me & say what ailment I have etc are few of your super-human powers. And they are never ending.
  • Your hug, your kiss & your lap is irreplacable though I am really bad at reciprocating the same. (Sorry about that šŸ˜¦ )
  • The most important one – You are proud about your girls. You don’t regret ‘Not having a son’. When people these days worry about daughters’ marriage & how they will be relieved once the liability is over, such things don’t bother you.

    Image courtesy: mywordwizard.com

Or let me put it this way, at times you get worried. The same worry that bothers every Indian parent who has a daughter – her marriage, finding the right groom, the expense, the dowry (which is given in the disguise of religiousĀ rituals) – worries you too. But you don’t ever show it. If you ever read this letter, I would like you to know that marriage is the last thing on my mind. And even if it happens some day, that day will come only after I get my job & become self sufficient. So there is no room for worry now & there wouldn’t be any room for worry then.

About your other motherly worries, you have done well. You have done your best. Stop worrying now & hop on to my Lavy (Lavender pleasure). Let us go on a ride. Like how you used to take me to music lessons, bal vikas classes, tuitions & shopping in your Scooty, let me take you around the city. And when you suddenly point out at something, I’ll stop and buy that for you.

Love,
Ranju

This post is a part of a Letter writing challenge. A letter a day for 30 days. You can read the others from HERE.

Leave a Reply

